Semnan province is one of the 31 provinces of Iran. It is in the north of the country, and its center is the city of Semnan. The province of Semnan covers an area of 96,816 square kilometers and stretches along the Alborz mountain range and borders to Dasht-e Kavir desert in its southern parts.Counties of the province include Semnan, Damghan, Shahrood, Mahdishahr (Sangsar) and Garmsar.



The province is divided into two parts: a mountainous region, and the plains at the foot of the mountains.

The former offers a scope for recreational activities as well as being a source for minerals, whereas the latter encompasses some ancient cities of Iran since one of the capitals of the Parthian empire was located there. In Semnan, people have local language with special words and slang. The base of this language which is derived from Pahlavi language, is the ancient language of Parthian.

Its neighbours are Golestan and Mazandaran in the north, Tehran and Qom at the west, Isfahan in the South and Khorasan-e Razavi at the east.

Semnan can be divided into sixteen sectors from the old days of Avesta. During the Medes and Achaemenid periods, it was considered as one of the largest provinces of the empire.

During the Islamic era, Semnan was a part of the historical region of Gomess or Komesh, and the Silk Road and paved its way from the midst of this region. Needless to say, the land had born witness to numerous wars.

The Cultural Historical Heritage Organization of Iran lists 470 sites of historical and cultural heritage such as palaces, forts, castles, caravansarais (traditional inns), ab anbars (water reservoir), and badgirs (wind channels), in Semnan. In addition to these, there are various religious and sacred places as well.